Scouting's National Honor Society

Order of the Arrow is the Boy Scouts of America's National Honor Society. Officially chartered in 1977, Pa-Hin Lodge #27 is the official honor society of the Northern Lights Council, BSA.

The Pa-Hin Lodge officially was chartered in 1977, after extensive planning and discussions in 1976, combining four existing lodges in the Northern Lights Council into a single Lodge. The four lodges were:
  • Chatoka Lodge #183 (Great Plains Council - based in Western ND/MT)
  • Chan-O-Wapi Lodge #52 (Missouri Valley Council - based in Bismarck/Mandan)
  • Thunderbird Lodge #371 (Lake Agassiz Council - based in Grand Forks/East Grand Forks)
  • Minniduta Lodge #176 (Red River Valley Council - based in Fargo/Moorhead)
From 1977 through approximately 1980, the former lodges continued to conduct operations as tribes (example: the Thunderbird Tribe), holding conclaves and OA events along the old lodge lines.

Around 1980, the tribes structure was dis-established and operations were organized as Chapters, aligning chapters based on the Districts structure established by the Northern Lights Council.

The Lodge currently (as of 2016) has a total of 10 Chapters spanning 2 Timezones (Central and Mountain), 4 States (MT, ND, SD, MN), 76 counties, and more than 96,000 square miles of area. The 2014 roster count was over 600 registered members.